MAC Casual Colour Lip and Cheek Pot Review


MAC Lip and Cheek Pot

MAC Lip and Cheek Pot

_DSC0191

MAC Casual Colour - Out for Fun

MAC Casual Colour – Out for Fun

Product: MAC Casual Colour Lip and Cheek Pot

Shade: Out for Fun

Price: Rs 1350 for 13ml

How to Use:

Apply directly to lips or cheeks blending well.  

What MAC says:

Versatile, lightweight all-in-one colour for cheeks and lips. Creamy, super-blendable, barely there formula. Contains Vitamin E to help keep skin and lips nourished. Limited Edition.

Ingredients

Ingredients

My Thoughts:

I have been using the Bobbi Brown lip and cheek pots for a few years now and I absolutely love them! Ever since MAC came out with their own version of the same I couldn’t wait to get my paws on them. As the shades I wanted were completely sold out in Chennai I got my darling hubby to pick one up from Mumbai.

The MAC Casual colour comes in a compact tiny pot packaging similar to MAC tinted lip conditioners housing about 13ml of product. The texture is light weight, creamy and surprisingly quite different from the Bobbi Brown pot rouges. I found it easy to apply on the cheeks giving a good deal of colour in one swipe and buildable as required. The finish is dewy with a good colour payoff yet not very sticky as it leaves light stain on the cheeks giving a healthy flush. The cream glided well on the lips without any tugging but I found it easier to apply with a lip brush than my fingertips. However if you have dry lips I would advise using a moisturiser underneath as it is more drying on the lips than the cheeks.

MAC Casual Colour - Out for Fun

MAC Casual Colour – Out for Fun

The colour ‘Out for Fun’ although looks like a warm coral in images it really is as described by MAC as ‘Cool Coral’. You can see the shade is quite different from Bobbi Brown’s ‘Cabo Coral’ which is a proper warm coral shade even border lining peach. I imagine it would suit fair to medium skin tones as the shade is buildable however it may not show up much on duskier skinned beauties. On my lips it looked more of a pink coral taking on the colour of my pink toned lips. The staying power is better than the Bobbi Brown pots giving a good 4hrs on my cheeks and about 2hrs on lips without fading or feathering.

Left: Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge - Cabo CoralRight: MAC Casual Colour - Out for Fun

Left: Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge – Cabo Coral
Right: MAC Casual Colour – Out for Fun

Overall I am in love with this product already and it just seems to have tipped the scales in comparison with the Bobbi Brown pot rouges of which I have been a loyal fan. This is a limited edition product so if you love it you might want to stock up. I wish MAC would bring this out as a part of their permanent range. I want to try ‘Keep it Casual’ from the same range but it appears to be sold out.

Left: Bobbi Brown - Cabo CoralRight: MAC - Out for Fun

Left: Bobbi Brown – Cabo Coral
Right: MAC – Out for Fun

Swatches Blended Out

Swatches Blended Out

MAC Casual Colour on cheek and lips

MAC Casual Colour on cheek and lips

Casual Colour - Out for Fun on lips

Casual Colour – Out for Fun on lips

 

PROS:

  • Excellent pigmentation
  • Good staying power
  • Light weight texture

CONS:

  • Drying on the lips
  • Expensive for the amount of product

 Overall Rating: 4.5/5 

Have you tried the MAC lip and Cheek pots? Whats your favourite colour?

Leave a Reply

