Lotus Herbals Sunscreens Review


Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream

Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

Products: Lotus Herbals

  1. Safe Sun 3 in 1 Matte Look Sunblock SPF 40
  2.  Multi-function Sun Block SPF 70

Price: Rs 325 (100g) and Rs 495 (60g)

How to Use:

Apply liberally over face and body exposed to sun.

My thoughts:

After trying all sorts of sunscreens from expensive to drugstore brands I can’t rave enough of this little gem I discovered only recently. Having lived outside India most of my life I had no access to Lotus Herbals products and it hasn’t been that long since I discovered their sun block creams.

Safe Sun 3 in 1 Matte Look Sunblock SPF 40

The Safe Sun 3 in 1 Matte Look Sunblock SPF 40 comes in an orange coloured tube with a pop up lid that clicks shut. The packaging is pretty much bog standard in that it is common in all Lotus Herbals Sunblock creams. There isn’t much to be said on packaging apart from that it has a tendency to spill out and accumulate at the nozzle hence if you are not careful this won’t travel well.

Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40 - Ingredients

Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40 – Ingredients

Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40

Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40

The consistency is thick and the cream itself has a light pinkish beige tone to it but this is barely visible once evenly applied on the skin. And like some of the sunscreens I have used in other brands this does not leave a ghastly whitish cast. It does exactly what it says on the tin: offers sun protection and mattifies skin. I can’t say usage of this cream has lightened my skin but frankly I doubt any cream can actually change ones natural pigmentation to a great extent unless it has bleaching agents of some sorts. I am allergic to any form of skin bleaching and I haven’t had any issues with this cream since using it so I doubt it contains any form of bleaching supplement.

The only slight quibble I have with this cream is the texture. It has some grittiness to it and which feels a bit scratchy during application. I am not sure if it is just down to this particular tube or if it’s a general issue with all Safe Sun 3 in 1 Matte Look Sunblock SPF 40. There is also a slight fragrance to it but nothing too over bearing.

Other than that I am quite happy with the product and would even recommend it to oily skinned beauties. With an SPF 40 I think it offers a decent level of sun protection for Indian summers.

PROS:

  • Good sun protection and matte finish
  • Value for money
  • Leaves no cast

CONS:

  • Gritty texture
  • Prone to leakage in packaging
  • Overall Rating: 4/5
Left: Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70Right: Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40

Left: Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70
Right: Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40

Multi-function Sun Block SPF 70

Trust me when I tell you we are on to a winner here!

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

I know a lot of beauty bloggers prefer the 3 in 1 matte but I guess my skin is wired differently? Actually no I shall tell exactly you why this one scores slightly higher than the other one.

The consistency is pretty much similar to the 3-in 1 matte perhaps a tad bit thicker. The colour is different in that it has no pink undertones and feels more like a tinted moisturiser as is clearly visible in swatches. The shade is perfect for my NC 40 skin and does not leave a whitish cast. When in hurry this cream is all I slap on over my moisturiser and I am good to go. My face feels instantly made up!

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70 Ingredients

Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70 Ingredients

The best bit is the texture. This is where it scores higher than the 3 in 1 matte. It glides on smoothly without any grittiness and leaves a moisturised feeling on my parched skin. Oily skinned beauties may find it a tad sticky and this is probably where it won’t work for them.

This cream offers an SPF 70 which is quite high and probably unnecessary so let that not be the reason to reach out for this cream as an SPF 40 offers all the protection one needs anyway.

I would totally recommend this cream to dry skinned beauties if the tone of the cream suits you as it doubles up as a tinted moisturiser. Oh and of course bear in mind this comes at an added cost @ Rs 495 for 60gms in comparison to the 3-in-1 Matte @ Rs 325 for 100gms.

PROS:

  • Good texture
  • Works like tinted moisturiser
  • Decent Sun protection
  • Long lasting on skin

CONS:

  • Expensive
  • Not suited for oily skins

Overall Rating: 4.5/5

Top: Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40Bottom: Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

Top: Lotus Herbals 3 in 1 Matte Sunblock Cream SPF 40
Bottom: Lotus Herbals Multi Function Sunblock SPF 70

Both well blended

Both well blended

Have you used any of these sun screens? Let me know your thoughts. 

2 thoughts on “Lotus Herbals Sunscreens Review

Leave a Reply

