Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig Review


Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03)

Product: Clinique Chubby Stick

Shade: Fullers Fig

Price: Rs 1025

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig Outer Packaging

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig Outer Packaging

My thoughts:

Having read rave reviews about these I had to get myself one and try it out. Having tested this for a few wears I can now I can safely say they are just okay?!? A lot of you may not agree but allow me to give you my reasons.

Starting with the packaging this comes in a ‘chubby’ crayon form just as the name suggests with the colour of the shade reflected in the packaging. Nothing extra special I would say except that these do not require sharpening upon usage but can simply be wound up by twisting the bottom silver base as you use them up.

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig (03)

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03)

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig (03)

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03)

The texture is balmy and glides on smoothly as one would imagine given the reputation Clinique has for providing extra moisturising lippies. There is no tugging during application and the formula does not settle in to lines. It’s not the texture that disappoints me but the actual colour pay-off that is a huge let-down. I probably shouldn’t expect too much in colour but one would have thought after 5-6 swipes the colour would build on? Well it didn’t for me even after endless swipes and I don’t even have pigmented lips. I am surprised to see how some of the other users have managed to get on so much colour with these. I can only suppose a colour matched lip liner used underneath it would enhance the colour of the chubby stick.

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig (03) Swatch

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03) Swatch

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig (03) 5-6 swipes applied

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03) 5-6 swipes applied

Don’t even get me started on the staying power. It does not exist. It lasted about an hour on my lips and that too without a meal. I had to constantly top it up to make sure my face didn’t look too washed out. Once the colour did wear off I did not feel my lips were adequately hydrated either. Admittedly I do suffer from dry(ish) lips that require a lot of care so that could be an added reason for lack of hydration.

I am yet to try out other shades in this range perhaps there is light at the end of the tunnel? That said ‘Fullers Fig’ did not cut it for me and I doubt I will be reaching out to this as much. There are far better hydrated balms that do better than this out there.

Clinique Chubby Stick - Fullers Fig (03)

Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig (03)

PROS:

  • Colour coded hygienic and convenient packaging
  • Fragrance free

CONS:

  • Low pigmentation
  • Expensive

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

Have you tried the chubby sticks? What do you think?

 

5 thoughts on “Clinique Chubby Stick – Fullers Fig Review

  1. mariane cairo says:

    I purchased a chubby stick lipstick in i have it 3 weeks I can’t bring it back to a store because I got in on a princess cruise ship ….what can I do please answer

  2. Stylopia says:

    Thanks babe :)! I have only tried Revlon ones in store and found the mint smell a bit annoying so didnt manage to buy one. Guess I should try one out just for comparison. Have you tried them?

Leave a Reply

