MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage Review


MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Product: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Price: Rs 1700 for 30ml

How to Use:

Apply a pea sized portion all over face and neck before applying make-up

What MAC says:

An ultra-fluid lotion formulated with special-effect silicones. Calms and soothes the skin, blots away excess oil, and evens out skin redness. Improves the laydown and application of foundation or powder.

Ingredients: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Ingredients: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Packaging: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Packaging: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Pump Dispender: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Pump Dispender: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

My thoughts:

Its my first review after nearly a month and I guess I am guilty of extreme exhaustion both with my day job taking over my life and a baby underway as I am 34 weeks preggers. Sorry peeps!!!

Excuse apart I have been using this primer for about two months now and think it is about time for a review. The packaging is simple customary MAC with a shimmery plastic black pump dispenser that’s quite neat in itself except that it gives no indication of how much product you have used. I am a bit wary of opaque packaging for this reason as I feel if the pump stops working I would have no idea if the product is finished or the pumps messed up. That said I haven’t had any issues with the dispenser so far although I don’t use it every day being an expensive-ish product?

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Swatch: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Swatch: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Blended Swatch: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

Blended Swatch: MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage

The texture is creamy with light shimmer particles that are so fine that you can barely feel it. There is absolutely no gritty feel to it given the shimmer but then if it was gritty I guess it beats the purpose of being a primer. The function of a primer is to set a flawless base to then accept make up and hence texture is very important else it beats the purpose. As a skin base the MAC Prep + Prime does exactly what it says on the tin. A pea sized portion is all I need to cover my entire face and give a smooth base to touch. It leaves a matte finish but with slight shimmer that is only obvious when light falls on your face. I hope the swatches on my arm give an indication of that.

I have dry skin and this I felt made my skin somewhat drier on its own. However teaming this up with Clinigue Even Better foundation which has a dewy finish countered the drying effects of this base. I found that the foundation definitely stayed on longer than it would if I hadn’t used the base. That said I only ever wear foundation when I know I am going somewhere that is air-conditioned so I am yet to try how this works when out an about shopping in the hot Chennai sun. I seriously doubt anything can survive that!

Overall I am a bit blasé about this product. Given that I don’t plaster my face much with foundation perhaps I could give it a miss? I wore this base on its own and under a powder foundation but didn’t feel it had anything to add to my look but just an additional product to apply.

Would I buy this again? Probably not.

PROS:

  • Good texture
  • Subtle shimmer

CONS:

  • Slightly expensive for product quantity
  • Packaging

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

How does this base work for you?

3 thoughts on “MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage Review

  1. Priya Dhanecha says:

    Great post! This surprises me given that I love the eye primer so much, perhaps I’ll give this one a miss after all. I absolutely LOVE Smashbox Photo Finish primer though, if you haven’t tried it, you really should! xxx

Leave a Reply

